UK · checked 8 September 2026
General VLOS Certificate compared
The qualification behind an operational authorisation. Published prices run £449 to £1,196.40.
| Provider | Course | Price | VAT basis | Delivery | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Spectrum Drone Services | GVC (online) | £449 | not stated | Online | not on register | View course → |
| iRed | GVC | £499 | not stated | E-learning | CAA approved | View course → |
| Coptrz | GVC (online) | £718.80 | inc VAT | Online | CAA approved | View course → |
| The UAV Academy | GVC | £840 | inc VAT | Online + live video, in-person flight assessment | CAA approved | View course → |
| UAV8 | GVC | £894 | £745 + VAT | Package | CAA approved | View course → |
| Coptrz | GVC (classroom) | £1,196.40 | inc VAT | Classroom | CAA approved | View course → |
Before you buy: the CAA stops issuing the GVC on 31 December 2027, replaced by the Level 1 Remote Pilot Certificate. One bought now is still valid for five years and covers the same five subjects — here is what actually changes.
Most buyers are better off on the combined page — nearly every provider discounts the GVC heavily when you take the A2 CofC with it, and several will not sell the GVC on its own at all.
Questions people ask
How much does a GVC cost?
Published prices run £449 to £1,196.40. Bought together with the A2 CofC the combined spread is £418 to £1,434.
Is the GVC being replaced?
Yes. The CAA stops issuing it on 31 December 2027, replaced by the Level 1 Remote Pilot Certificate. One bought now stays valid for five years and covers the same five subjects — what actually changes.
What does the GVC cover?
Five theoretical subjects — air law, aircraft general knowledge, human performance, meteorology and operational procedures — plus a practical skills test. The full syllabus.
Is a cheaper GVC worth less?
The certificate is identical, because the CAA sets the syllabus. What varies is teaching, instructor contact, and whether the flight assessment and operations manual support are included in the price or added later.
How long does a GVC last?
Five years, and it remains acceptable to its expiry date even after the CAA stops issuing new ones.
Tell us when to warn you about the price
We re-check every published price and email subscribers when one moves. No spam, and one click to leave.
We ask for your email so we can send the reminder, and nothing else. You will get a confirmation email first — if you never click it, we never contact you again. Every email carries an unsubscribe link. Providers are shown aggregate numbers — how many people compared their course — never individual details, unless you tick the box above. How we handle your data.