UK · checked 8 September 2026
A2 Certificate of Competency compared
The entry qualification, and the cheapest way into the category. £97 to £450 for the same certificate — a 4.6× spread.
| Provider | Course | Price | VAT basis | Delivery | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coptrz | A2 CofC | £97 | not stated | Online | CAA approved | View course → |
| iRed | A2 CofC | £99 | not stated | E-learning | CAA approved | View course → |
| The UAV Academy | A2 CofC | £99 | inc VAT | Online, exam at home | CAA approved | View course → |
| Blue Skies Drone Training | A2 CofC | £99 | not stated | Online, self-paced | CAA approved | View course → |
| UAV8 | A2 CofC | £118.80 | £99 + VAT | Live online classroom | CAA approved | View course → |
| Heliguy | A2 CofC | £149.50 | inc VAT | Online | CAA approved | View course → |
| Drone Pilot Academy | A2 CofC | £450 | £375 + VAT | 1 day in person, includes flying | CAA approved | View course → |
The £450 option is a full day in person with flying included; the £97 ones are self-paced video with the exam sat at home. Both end in the same A2 CofC. If you have never flown anything, the expensive one is not a rip-off — it is a different product.
Questions people ask
How much does an A2 CofC cost?
Published prices run £97 to £450 — a 4.6 times spread for the same certificate. The table above lists every CAA-approved provider that publishes a price, cheapest first.
Is a cheap A2 CofC the same certificate as an expensive one?
Yes. The CAA sets the syllabus and the examination, so the certificate is identical whoever issues it. What differs is how it is taught and how much instructor contact you get. The syllabus is here.
What does the A2 CofC exam involve?
At least 30 multiple-choice questions with a 75% pass mark, covering meteorology, UAS flight performance, and technical and operational mitigations for ground risk.
Do I need an A2 CofC at all?
Only to fly closer to uninvolved people than the Open category otherwise allows. Many people need nothing beyond a Flyer ID — work it out in three questions.
How long does an A2 CofC last?
Five years.
Tell us when to warn you about the price
We re-check every published price and email subscribers when one moves. No spam, and one click to leave.
We ask for your email so we can send the reminder, and nothing else. You will get a confirmation email first — if you never click it, we never contact you again. Every email carries an unsubscribe link. Providers are shown aggregate numbers — how many people compared their course — never individual details, unless you tick the box above. How we handle your data.